University Hospital Freiburg WBT Hygiene

Hygiene measures at the University Medical Center Freiburg

Complying with basic hygiene measures in hospitals is a crucial condition for preventing the spread of germs, together with the infections and any potential deaths caused by this. According to the state hygiene regulations in Baden-Württemberg, medical facilities are obliged to inform their complete staff each year about hygiene measures and the prevention of infections. The HQ-Group developed a solution here together with the hospital hygiene section at the University Medical Center Freiburg to raise the awareness for the required hygiene measures, which went on to win the Comenius EduMedia Medal. An explanatory short film and an interactive web-based training (WBT) illustrated the most important hygiene measures for protecting patients from the spread of germs – and that in a highly successful way.

interaktiv_case_t
bewegtbild_case_t
uniklinik_keyvisual

Assignment

By disinfecting hands correctly, both the patients and staff in a hospital are protected from the transmission of countless germs. For which reason, refreshing the knowledge about this and further important measures on hygiene and the prevention of infections is an essential requirement. In order to convince the hospital staff about the need to consistently implement hygiene measures on a daily basis, our innovate learning program, which has won the Comenius EduMedia Medal, provided the help and support they needed.

Solution

So as to illustrate that regular and thorough disinfection of hands prevents the spread of germs, the HQ-Group developed together with the University Medical Center Freiburg a learning program that conveys basic aspects of hygiene, which was visually attractive and specifically tailored to the staff in medical facilities. Colour pigments emerging in an explosive cloud as soon as a human hand comes in contact with germs, matched by a zoom in on the hands and dramatic music – all of these elements were intended to awaken the medical center staff to the dangers here. Thanks to the use of holi-colours and parallex effects, HQ succeeded in conveying the everyday contact situations and routes through which germs and viruses spread – and that in a frighteningly good visual way. With the staff now enthusiastically fulfilling their duty thanks to the vivid presentation.

In addition to the short film, which served as an innovative introduction to the subject of basic hygiene, the HQ-Group also developed an interactive, didactic web-based training. Despite having to reduce the content here, the staff were able to click through a virtual desktop and gain more in-depth information on an individual basis using the "hygiene management" body of knowledge. In this way, the staff were required to process more information beyond that in the obligatory part, with sufficient time remaining for further specialist advanced training. Which proved to be a motivational addition or alternative to classroom seminars.

Key features

  • Development of a short film
  • Preparation of a web-based training (WBT)
haendehygiene

Uniklinik Freiburg WBT Hygiene

Hygienemaß­nahmen am Universitäts­klinikum Freiburg

Das Einhalten grundlegender Hygienemaßnahmen in Krankenhäusern ist die entscheidende Voraussetzung, um die Übertragung von Krankheitserregern und somit Infektionen und dadurch bedingte Todesfälle zu verhindern. Laut der Landeshygieneverordnung von Baden-Württemberg sind medizinische Einrichtungen verpflichtet, ihr gesamtes Personal jährlich über Hygienemaßnahmen und Infektionsprävention aufzuklären. Eine mit der Comenius EduMedia Medaille ausgezeichnete Lösung zur Sensibilisierung für notwendige Hygienemaßnahmen entwickelte die HQ-Gruppe in Zusammenarbeit mit der Sektion Krankenhaushygiene des Universitätsklinikums Freiburg. Auf eine gelungene Art und Weise veranschaulichen ein aufklärender Kurzfilm und ein interaktives Web Based Training (WBT) die wichtigsten hygienischen Maßnahmen, um Patienten vor Erregerübertragungen zu schützen.

interaktiv_case_t
bewegtbild_case_t
uniklinik_keyvisual

Aufgabenstellung

Die korrekte Händedesinfektion schützt Patienten und Krankenhauspersonal vor der Übertragung von unzähligen Erregern. Die Auffrischung von Kenntnissen über diese und weitere wichtige Maßnahmen zur Hygiene und Infektionsprävention sind unabdingbar. Um Mitarbeitende von der Notwendigkeit zu überzeugen, Hygienemaßnahmen täglich konsequent durchzuführen, hilft unser innovatives und mit der Comenius EduMedia Medaille prämiertes Lernprogramm.

Lösung

Um zu verdeutlichen, dass eine regelmäßige und gründliche Händedesinfektion die Übertragung von Krankheitserregern vermeidet, entwickelte die HQ-Gruppe gemeinsam mit dem Universitätsklinikum Freiburg ein visuell ansprechendes und speziell auf Mitarbeitende in medizinischen Einrichtungen zugeschnittenes Lernprogramm zur Vermittlung der Basishygiene. Farbpigmente, die in einer explosionsartigen Wolke hervortreten, sobald die menschliche Hand in Berührung mit Erregern kommt, Heranzoomen an Hände und dramatische Musik sollen die Mitarbeitende des Klinikums wachrütteln. Dank Holi-Color- oder Parallax-Effekten ist es HQ gelungen, die alltäglichen Kontaktsituationen und Ausbreitungswege von Bakterien und Viren erschreckend gut visuell umzusetzen. Dank der Veranschaulichung wird die Pflicht zu Begeisterung.

Neben dem Kurzfilm, der als innovative Einführung in die Thematik der Basishygiene dient, entwickelte die HQ-Gruppe ein interaktives, didaktisches Web Based Training. Trotz reduziertem Inhalt können sich die Mitarbeitende durch eine virtuelle Schreibtischoberfläche klicken und sich individuell mit Hilfe der Wissenssammlung „Hygienemanagement“ tiefergehend informieren. So wird die Bereitschaft gefördert, mehr Informationen als über den Pflichtteil hinausgehend zu bearbeiten, und es bleibt zusätzlich Zeit für weitere Fachfortbildungen. Eine motivierende Ergänzung bzw. Alternative zu Präsenzseminaren!

Key Features

  • Entwicklung eines Kurzfilmes
  • Erstellung eines Web Based Trainings

haendehygiene